Branching Out

I’ve been tasked with doing something with my music that I hadn’t considered, and am not adequately trained for.  It’s been said that necessity is the mother of invention, so I’m giving it a go.

In the not too distant future, I’m likely going to be providing music therapy, rather than entertainment, at a local nursing home.  The two activities are worlds apart in purpose and equally so in preparation, so I’ve been scouring the Internet for resources, techniques, suggestions, and general help.

Ideally, the nursing home would hire a certified therapist, but until that happens, it seems a few local musicians are stepping up to the plate.  Fortunately, there are plenty of resources, and I will be making ongoing use of them all as I get ready to begin.  

My hope is that I am up to the challenge of helping their residents.  I’ve been performing there for a while, and taking on this new role is both inspiring and terrifying.  Any suggestions, thoughts, etc would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

