Long Weekends

Update: scheduled posting didn't work. This was due following the weekend of June 10th.

I'm not counted among the road warriors of the musician community.  I endeavor to space out my performances with intent, and there is a good reason for that.  I'm not in my 20's anymore.  I also have a day job, a family, and a lot of draws on my time.

That said, this past weekend, I gave myself a taste of the touring life.  One shortcoming came into light rather quickly.  Let's just say that I'm not in shape, and that needs to change.

As for the weekend in question, 12 hour shifts on Wednesday and Thursday, a show about 45 minutes away, in Ann Arbor, MI's Crazy Wisdom on Friday night, followed by a show in Cambridge, ON's CLM Fest, about four hours away on Saturday.  Some video footage was shot on Sunday, before a 4 hour return trip, and back to back 12 hour shifts Monday and Tuesday.  That last shift was cut a little short by a family emergency at the local ER, where I'm not getting sleep, but that's another story.

For me, that's a lot of hours, a lot of driving, and a little music in proportion to the efforts involved.  True road warriors though, they live that life.  Mini tours every weekend, and a new city to perform in every chance they get.  My little taste of that life was more than enough to give me a healthy respect for those that live that life.

Musical road warriors, I salute you.  Now, as soon as this latest emergency has passed, I really need to start exercising and eating better.

Leave a Reply

